The following poets have won the prizes indicated in each category. An Awards Ceremony will be held Sunday, April 29, 2007 at the Piccadilly Inn Shaw in Fresno, beginning at 9 am, in which all poems will be read and prizes awarded.

Place   Poet Poem
Category 1. Theme: Legends
1st Cleo Griffith Immigrants
Category 2. Fixed Forms
1st Brigit Truex The Rain Crow
2nd Joyce Odam Clarifications
3rd Deborah P. Kolodji Mount Wilson
HM 1 Norberta Fullen Fall Into Glory
HM 2 Allison Joseph Future Writer
HM 3 Elsie Whitlow Feliz Grand Central Station ...
HM 4 Carol Frith The Rhyming Woman Poses Nude
Category 3. Short Poem
1st Lené Gary sipping tea
2nd Athena Mercado War
3rd Betty Temple Deer Shadows
HM 1 Deborah P. Kolodji After Dark
HM 2 Linda Prather More than the Mundane
HM 3 Amyre DeDeaux Maiden Song
HM 4 Norma Green Dementia
HM 5 Elizabeth A. Bernstein Soliloquy
Category 4. Any Subject, Any Style
1st Cleo Griffith How I Learned to Love Cowboy Poetry
2nd Maureen Lavender Prayer for a Thorny Path
3rd Janine Margiotta The Remnants We Remember
HM 1 Catherine Moran Symmetry
HM 2 Ed Bearden The Names of Things
HM 3 Mary Ann Savage Desire
HM 4 Claire J. Baker Stanley Kunitz
HM 5 Norma Green Offerings
Catergory 5. Light or Humorous Poem
1st Carol Frith Poet's Monday
2nd David Lapierre The Moment
3rd Elsie Whitlow Feliz Butchering Our Language
HM 1 Selma Calnan Blue at Eighty-two
HM 2 Ursula T. Gibson Pavlovian Reflex
HM 3 Marnelle R. White Cold Turkey
HM 4 Mabel Mello I Can't Write a Poem
HM 5 Claire J. Baker Wreath
Category 6. Nature
1st Lynn M. Hansen August Resurrection
2nd Linda McCarty Fog on the Horizon
3rd Lee Collins Green Quiet
HM 1 debee loyd scrub jay
HM 2 Chris Layoso Heaven on Earth
Category 7. Science and Technology
1st Linda McCarty String Theory
2nd Deborah P. Kolodji No Longer One of the Good Ole Boys
3rd Elizabeth A. Bernstein Scientific Progress
HM 1 Louise Kantro The Breath of Life
HM 2 Margaret Ellis Hill A Matter of Physics
HM 3 Elsie Whitlow Feliz The Surveyor Shooting Polaris
HM 4 Laverne Frith The Switching Station
Category 8. Lois Jeannette Dalton Memorial Award: any aspect of Humanity
1st Selma Calnan Quest
2nd Wendy Patrice Williams Now
3rd Catherine Moran All the beliefs
HM 1 Ed Bearden I Would Marry You Again
HM 2 Cleo Fellers Kocol Choices in a Garden
HM 3 Maureen Lavender Remembering Snow from Long Ago
HM 4 Janine Margiotta Wild Poppy
HM 5 Allison Joseph For Loved Ones in a War Zone
Category 9. Anona McConaghy Memorial Award: any aspect of Friendship
1st Elaine Lazzeroni Déjà Vu
2nd Irene Lipshin Road Trip
3rd Cleo Fellers Kocol Ann and I
HM 1 M. Elizabeth Coard Peacemeal
HM 2 Carol Frith Beyond the Bridge
HM 3 Mary Ann Savage Poem
HM 4 Gregory A. Bennett Paper Cranes
Category 10. Roscoe Fortson Memorial Award: Looking Backward
1st Laverne Frith Unanswered Cries
2nd Rick Thielo The Shadowboxer's Son
3rd Phyllis Williams After Dark
HM 1 Marnelle R. White Locking the Barn Door
HM 2 Ed Bearden Summer Heat
HM 3 Linda Prather Bitter Coffee
HM 4 M. Elizabeth Coard ipod
HM 5 Elaine Lazzeroni Flying in my Nightgown
Category 11. Pegasus Buchanan Memorial Award: any subject Rhymed & Metered
1st Carol Frith Poppies Volunteer
2nd Jack Fulbeck Chestnut Street Revisited
3rd Elaine Lazzeroni Villanelle for Old Lovers
HM 1 William Preston The Song of the Bells
HM 2 debee loyd pantoum for Abuelita
HM 3 Norma Green The Little Boy Who Never Was
HM 4 Katharine Wilson Advanced Writing Workshop
HM 5 Deborah P. Kolodji Alone Now
Category 12. Executive Board: Jumping Ship
1st Maureen Lavender Free At Last! Free At Last!
2nd Laverne Frith The Age of Exploration
3rd Cleo Fellers Kocol Moving On — 1937

 about us | chapters | membership | education | conventions | publications | contests | contact
 Copyright © 2007 
CFCP, Inc. 
This page designed by
JS Graphics
 return to
 previous page


 posted 12:20 am 3/20/07